ACO – Goldberg Variations

The Australian Chamber Orchestra presents Bach’s iconic keyboard work in a celebration that brings together the old and the new in an utterly unique and illuminating way at Wollongong Town Hall on 16 August 2018.

The ACO are outstanding” – The Guardian UK, 2016

This is an Australian Premiere and a very special event in the ACO’s 2018 National Concert Season.

An Aria with Diverse Variations for the Harpsichord with Two Manuals, Composed for Music Lovers to Refresh their Spirits by Johann Sebastian Bach’ is now known simply as the Goldberg Variations. Legend has it that a student of Bach’s used to play the Variations to a friend who suffered from frequent bouts of insomnia. Despite its unwieldy title, there is no mistaking this body of work as one of the greatest pieces of music ever written.

Thomas Adès’ ‘Nightfalls’ will set the nocturnal scene before the ACO presents the Australian premiere of Canadian composer/ conductor Bernard Labadie’s string arrangement of Bach’s iconic keyboard work. A transformation of the original – which many of you will recognise – it offers audiences something fresh and inventive.

Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Erin Helyard Keyboards
Australian Chamber Orchestra

BACH (arr. Richard Tognetti) Canons on a Goldberg Ground
STRAVINSKY Three Pieces for String Quartet
THOMAS ADÈS (arr. strings) Nightfalls from The Four Quarters
BACH (arr. Bernard Labadie) Goldberg Variations

Act 1: 30 minutes
Interval: 20 minutes
Act 2: 70 minutes

Age restriction of 8 years +

Adult: $162
Conc: $148
Group (10+): $148
Under 30: $49
Student: N/A

Adult: $145
Conc: $128
Group (10+): $128
Under 30: $49
Student: N/A

Adult: $124
Conc: $109
Group (10+): $109
Under 30: $49
Student: $25
Under 30: $49

Adult: $69
Conc: $64
Group (10+): $64
Under 30: $49
Student: $25

Tickets on Sale Now