ACO – Tognetti Tchaikovsky Brahms

Richard Tognetti leads this big, melodic, and emotively powerful opening to the ACO’s 2018 season.

“One of the wonders of the musical world” – The Guardian UK on the ACO, 2017.

Missy Mazzoli is “Brooklyn’s post-millennial Mozart” – Time Out New York.

Featuring music by Tchaikovsky, Brahms, America’s Missy Mazzoli and the UK’s Anna Clyne.

Brahms’ Sextet in G major is so rich, so melodic and so powerful that Richard Tognetti calls this new arrangement for string orchestra featuring musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music, Brahms’ ‘Fifth Symphony’.

Tchaikovsky’s soothing Serenade for Strings gives you a chance to gasp for air. Then it’s back to the future with two new works by Missy Mazzoli and Anna Clyne. Mazzoli’s world premiere concerto was commissioned for ACO Principal Double Bass Maxime Bibeau, honouring his 20 years with the Orchestra.

Anna Clyne’s Grammy Award-nominated double violin concerto, Prince of Clouds, which the New York Times described as ‘ravishing’, receives its Australian Premiere from two of the ACO’s newest stars, Ike See and Glenn Christensen.

In one word: epic

Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Maxime Bibeau Double Bass
Ike See Violin
Glenn Christensen Violin
Australian Chamber Orchestra with Musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music

TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings in C major
MISSY MAZZOLI Concerto for Double Bass and Strings – World Premiere*
ANNA CLYNE Prince of Clouds Australian Premiere
BRAHMS (arr. strings) String Sextet No.2 in G major

* Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Aurora Orchestra

Act 1: 45 minutes
Interval: 20 minutes
Act 2: 50 minutes

Age restriction of 8 years +